Zenhabits-Step #9 continued

This minimizing thing is much harder than I anticipated. I thought I would be able to accomplish each step seamlessly within a week-long time frame. As of right now I am still on the same step! At this rate it will take me 6 years to complete the entire list of 72!

But on the side of good, we are all taking this decluttering very seriously. We have thrown away or donated an amazing amount of things. I have gotten rid of a truly astounding amount of clothes with more paring down left to do! We have organized a good selection of things we want to sell on ebay. There are a ton of horse related expenses coming and it would be nice to make some money from our excess accumulation.

By far the most exciting thing we have done thus far is to purchase a really great picture scanner. We are going through all the photo albums, scanning them in and purging the hard copies. Again, I did not correctly estimate the sheer magnitude of this project! So far I have scanned in over 1000 pictures and still have tons to go.

However, all said this is an amazingly cathartic process that I recommend everyone commit to!

Here is a picture of all the boxes and photo albums we started with and the spiffy scanner.

Minimizing Photos

4 responses to this post.

  1. Would hate to have to try and scan pics. Ugggh! But yay for the decluttering!! Should you happen to declutter a twin bed, we could use one for our guest room 😉

    Reply

  2. I admire your commitment. I am actually thinking about making the same one and would be interested in continuing to hear how it is going for you. I know it is by no means easy, but everyone who has successfully done it says that it is the best thing they have ever done. One step at a time…:)

    Reply

  3. Sibyl,
    I must say, I honestly thought it would be easier! Sometimes when I am sorting through boxes of mementos I feel like I’m in an episode of hoarders!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

